Festival and Platform

"Women in Battle" - Rebellische Frauen. A Project by NORDWIND and Literaturhaus Berlin

25.10.2019 7.30 pm

"Women in Battle" - Rebellische Frauen

With the announcement "Women in Battle" the group fxtrouble, who are known in Berlin for their platform of the VULVA Club, hijack the Literaturhaus for an evening with young Norwegian authors* and transform it into a crazy place of fresh gender criticism. While Ingvild Lothe's poetry questions the image of young women between career, sexuality, madness and loneliness, Marta Breen's title-giving Grapic Novel takes a clairvoyant course through the history of feminism. Sofia N. Srour and Nancy Herz present parts of their book "Shamlos", in which the young Muslimas use their ingenuity and humour to make clear what it means to grow up as 'strangers' in the Norwegian welfare state. The texts are read by two actors* from the Theater an der Parkaue and supplemented by their views. The evening is in English and German.

07.11.2019 7.30 pm

"Flügel in Flammen" - An Evening about Dagny Juel with Anne Tismer, Dr. Barbara Fruth and Lars Brandt

Dagny Juel's self-determined way of writing and living calls into question the bourgeois conventions of the late 19th century. Her progressive lifestyle made her travel from Norway to the Bohème around Strindberg und Munch in Berlin and to Tiflis, where she finally was slained. The performance artist Anne Tismer takes a closer look at Juel‘s writings and creates a crossover of science and fiction by imagining how Dagny Juel‘s life would have been in the matriarchal society of the Bonobos. In a conversation with the author and film maker Lars Brandt, the son of Rut and Willy Brandt, who translated Juel‘s complete works into German, Tismer will explore the importance of Dagny Juel‘s work for today. The discussion will be moderated by Julia Voss.

funded by Norwegian Literature Abroad, Royal Norwegian Embassy, Fritt Ord Foundation. 

Tickets www.literaturhaus-berlin.de

»Exploring Blankness« – NORDWIND Festival 2019

5-14 December 2019, Kampnagel

Dedicated to “Exploring Blankness”, the Nordwind Festival 2019 examines the effects and potentialities of the fourth wave of feminism for feminist history and praxis in Europe while critically re appraising the feminist movement of recent decades. “Fourth-wave” feminism typically looks beyond physical and structural abuse to also engage in a critique of the consequences of capitalist and colonialist power structures. Central to this is a recognition that categoriessuch as “woman” are not sufficient to understand and critically challenge the complexity of oppression – when, for instance, considering women of colour, trans women or women with disabilities. Following Gayatri Spivak, the “blindness” that the western colonial gaze has towards its own precariously patriarchal and racist structures can be described as an “inaccessible blankness” – including within western feminism. The artists contributing to this edition of Nordwind grapple particularly with the reality of feminism in the Nordic countries – but also in the rest of Europe.

NORDWIND FESTIVAL 2019 is funded by the German Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, Danish Arts Foundation, Norwegian Embassy, Norwegfian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Finnish Institute in Germany, Swedish Arts Council, Fonds Transfabrik, Behörde für Kultur und Medien Hamburg, Goethe Institut and Frankfurter Stiftung: maeceniafür Frauen in Wissenschaft und Kunst (maeceniafor women in science and art) as part of the Alliance of International Production Houses.

X

Festival und Plattform

„Women in Battle – Rebellische Frauen“. Ein Projekt von NORDWIND und dem Literaturhaus Berlin

25.10.2019 19.30h

„Women in Battle“- Rebellische Frauen

Mit der Ansage „Women in Battle“ kapern die Gruppe fxtrouble, die in Berlin für ihre Plattform des VULVA Clubs bekannt sind, mit jungen norwegischen Autor*innen für einen Abend das Literaturhaus und verwandeln es in einen wahnwitzigen Ort frischer Genderkritik. Während Ingvild Lothe mit ihrer Lyrik das Bild junger Frauen zwischen Karriere, Sexualität, Tinderwahn und Einsamkeit befragt, unternimmt Marta Breen mit ihrem titelgebenden Grapic Novel einen hellsichtigen Zug durch die Geschichte des Feminismus. Sofia N. Srour und Nancy Herz stellen Teile ihres Buches „Schamlos“ vor, in dem die jungen Muslimas mit Scharfsinn und viel Humor deutlich machen, was es bedeutet als ‚Fremde‘ im norwegischen Wohlfahrtsstaat aufzuwachsen. Die Texte werden von zwei Schauspieler*innen des Theaters an der Parkaue gelesen und um ihre Sichtweisen ergänzt. Der Abend ist in englischer und deutscher Sprache.

 

07.11.2019 19.30h

„Flügel in Flammen“- Ein Abend zu Dagny Juel mit Anne Tismer, Dr. Barbara Fruth und Lars Brandt

Als selbstbestimmte Frau stellte die Schriftstellerin Dagny Juel mit ihrem Schreiben und mit ihrem provokanten Auftreten die bürgerlichen Konventionen des ausgehenden 19. Jahrhunderts infrage. Ihr progressives Leben führte sie von Norwegen über die Bohèhme Berlins um Strindberg und Munch bis nach Tiflis, wo sie ermordet wurde. Die Performerin Anne Tismer greift die bisher nur wenig bekannten Texte Juels auf und rückt sie in einem Cross-Over von Wissenschaft und Fiktion in ein neuartiges Spannungsverhältnis. Mit Hilfe der Forschung zu den Bonobo-Affen der Professorin für Neurobiologie und Leiterin der Forschungsstation für Bonobos, Dr. Barbara Fruth, entwirft Tismer eine kritisch-spekulative Sichtweise auf unsere Gesellschaft, indem sie fragt, wie Juels Leben in der matriarchalen Gesellschaft der Bonobos verlaufen wäre. Im Gespräch mit dem Autor und Filmemacher Lars Brandt, der als Sohn von Rut und Willy Brandt eng mit Norwegen verbunden ist und der das Werk Juels erstmals  ins Deutsche übersetzte, erkundet Tismer die Aktualität von Dagny Juels Arbeiten und Wirken. Es moderiert: Julia Voss.

gefördert von der königlich norwegischen Botschaft, Norwegian Literature Abroad(NORLA), Fritt Ord Foundation.

 

»Exploring Blankness« – NORDWIND Festival 2019

05.-14. Dezember 2019, Kampnagel

Unter dem Thema »Exploring Blankness« widmet sich das NORDWIND Festival 2019 der Frage, welche Konsequenzen und Potenziale die Vierte Feministische Welle für die Geschichte und Praxis eines Feminismus in Europa hat, und versucht eine kritische Re-Lektüre der Bewegung der letzten Jahrzehnte. Die »Vierte Welle« des Feminismus zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass neben körperlichem und strukturellem Missbrauch auch die Folgen kapitalistischer und kolonialer Machtstrukturen angeprangert werden. Zentral ist die Erkenntnis, dass beispielsweise die Kategorie »Frau« nicht ausreicht, um die Vielschichtigkeit von Unterdrückung zu erfassen und kritisch zu hinterfragen – wenn es sich etwa um eine Frau of Color handelt, eine trans Frau oder eine Frau mit Behinderungen. Als »inaccessible blankness« kann nach Gayatri Spivak die »Blindheit« bezeichnet werden, die der westlich-koloniale Blick auf seine eigenen prekär-patriarchalen und rassistischen Strukturen hat – auch innerhalb des westlichen Feminismus. Die Künstlerinnen dieser Nordwind-Ausgabe setzen sich mit der Realität des Feminismus in den Nordischen – aber auch anderen europäischen Ländern auseinander.

NORDWIND FESTIVAL 2019 wird gefördert im Rahmen des Bündnisses internationaler Produktionshäuser von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, Danish Arts Foundation, Norwegian Embassy, Norwegfian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Finnland-Institut in Deutschland, Swedish Arts Council, Fonds Transfabrik, Behörde für Kultur und Medien Hamburg, Goethe Institut und Frankfurter Stiftung: maeceniafür Frauen in Wissenschaft und Kunst.

Karten unter www.literaturhaus-berlin.de


X