NORDWIND festival 2015


14.11. bis 23.12.

20.11. bis 28.11.

25.11 bis 5.12.

27.11. bis 5.12.


The NORDWIND festival is showing in Berlin new and headstrong performance and dance productions from Iceland, Denmark, Sweden and Norway. In Exodus, Cecile Ullerup Schmidt and Andreas Liebmann sing of their exchange with the „new Europeans“ in the Sicilian reception camps. In her techno-driven piece Splendour, Stina Nyberg is looking for a new kind of freedom in the body taking control of the sound. Erna Ómarsdóttir exposes the audience, in her powerful piece Black Marrow, to the primeval energy of the unconditional will to survive.

In addition to that, for the first time, focus will shift to our eastern neighbor, Russia. Some of the most exciting Russian Theater makers are invited to present their newest works under the title “BALAGAN!!!” Oleg Soulimenko combines in Meet the Shaman western-urban daily life with shamanistic rituals from the Baikal Lake area. Andrej Sowlatschkow and Michail Patlas are pursuing in the virtuously staged piece Antibodies the murder of the young anti fascist Timur Katscharawa in St. Petersburg. In addition to that, comes the big exhibition project “BALAGAN!!! Contemporary Art from the Former Soviet Union and Other Mythical Places”, curated by David Elliot.


Historically, Germany, Scandinavia and the Baltic have so much in common: from the Germans over the Hanse to the current alliances. The knowledge of the North and North East remains mostly at a few holiday memories, mainly crazy Scandinavian mystery novels and a few generalities about the state of the Swedish welfare.

However, the NORDWIND festival in Dresden aims to tell a different story. Contrasting and subliminal, a bit crazy and always headstrong-this is how artists from Iceland to Estonia present themselves: Erna Ómarsdóttir, Elena Pirinen, Damien Jalet, Valdimar Jóhannsson, Ludvig Daae, Tilman O'Donnell, Arve Henriksen and many more.

In 2015, under the motto “BALAGAN!!!” we are showing in an exhibition, installation, photo exhibit and performance non-conformist artists from Russia and other countries that were part of the former Eastern Bloc: Andrey Kuzkin, Almagul Menlibayeva, Sasha Pirogova, Blue Noses Group, Dario Jacopo Laganà & Stefano Corso...



A fresh breeze will be blowing through the Dampfzentrale as the NORWIND festival comes to Bern for the first time.

The programme’s diversity reflects this, clashing aesthetics, content and artistic media, uniting dance with performance, concerts and electronic music to a singular festival.

The Icelandic choreographer Erna Ómarsdóttir is celebrating the human corporality in Black Marrow, Stina Nyberg from Sweden finds freedom in surrendering her body to the sound and the Finn Elina Pirinen pays homage to Schostakowitsch’s 7th Symphony through her choreography, a combination of grotesque and grandeur that becomes a timeless study of the human existence.

In addition, there is a program of short films, a Club-Label-Night, with performances from the most original DJs of Scandinavian club scene, and a concert from Anna von Hausswolff.

The final part of the program is a discussion round that will have as a topic the comparison between Switzerland and Scandinavian countries.


For two weeks, artists from Northern Europe and, for the first time, from Russia will show outstanding works from the fields of performance art, dance, music and visual art at Kampnagel in Hamburg.

Included in the program are amongst other the first worldwide retrospective of radical artist Pjotr Pawlenski, who became famous for his spectacular performances; artist’s Erna Ómarsdóttir return for the fourth time to the Kampnagel stage with her visually stunning choreography Black Marrow; Andrej Sowlatschkow and Michail Patlasow, who take Russian neo-fascism under the microscope; shooting star of the Finnish performance scene Elina Pirinen with PERSONAL SYMPHONIC MOMENT and many more.

NORDWIND Festival 2015

       

14.11. bis 23.12.

20.11. bis 28.11.

25.11 bis 5.12.

27.11. bis 5.12.

Berlin.

Das NORDWIND Festival zeigt in Berlin neue und eigenwillige Performance- und Tanz-Produk-tionen aus Island, Dänemark, Schweden und Norwegen. Cecilie Ullerup Schmidt und Andreas Liebmann besingen in Exodus ihren Austausch mit den “neuen Europäern” in den sizilia-nischen Auffanglagern. Stina Nyberg sucht mit ihrer Techno-Praxis in Splendour eine neue Freiheit in der Übereignung des Körpers an den Sound. Erna Ómarsdóttir setzt uns in ihrem kraftvollen Black Marrow der urtümlichen Energie eines unbe-dingten Überlebenswillen aus.

Dazu geht der Blick erstmals in einem eigenen Schwerpunkt nach Russland. Unter dem Titel BALAGAN!!! sind einige der spannendsten russischen Thea-termacher mit ihren neuesten Arbeiten eingeladen. Oleg Souli-menko verbindet in Meet the Shaman westlich-urbanen Alltag mit schamanistischen Ritualen aus der Region des Baikalsees. Andrej Sowlatschkow und Michail Patlasow gehen in dem virtuos inszenierten Stück Anti-körper auf der Grundlage von Interviews der Ermordung des jungen Antifaschisten Timur Katscharawa in St. Petersburg nach. Dazu kommt das von David Elliott kuratierte große Ausstellungsprojekt “BALAGAN!!! Contemporary Art from the Former Soviet Union and Other Mythical Places".




 
Dresden.

Deutschland, Skandinavien und das Baltikum haben historisch so einiges gemeinsam: von den Germanen über die Hanse bis in die gegenwärtigen Bündnisse. Die Kenntnisse über den Norden und Nordosten bleiben aber meist bei ein paar Urlaubserin-nerungen, ziemlich abgefahre-nen Skandinavien-Krimis und ein paar Allgemeinplätzen über den schwedischen Wohlfahrtsstaat stecken.

Das Festival in Dresden erzählt andere Geschichten. Gegenläu-fig und untergründig, ein biss-chen verrückt und allemal sehr eigenwillig: So stellen sich die Künstler von Island bis Estland dar: Erna Ómarsdóttir, Elena Pirinen, Damien Jalet, Valdimar Jóhannsson, Ludvig Daae, Tilman O'Donnell, Arve Henriksen u.a.

2015 kommt auch in Dresden noch die Windrichtung Osten dazu: Unter dem Motto „Balagan!!!“ zeigen wir in einer Ausstellung, einer Installation, einer Fotoschau und einer Per-formance unangepasste Künstler aus Russland und anderen Län-dern des ehemaligen Ostblocks: Andrey Kuzkin, Almagul Menliba-yeva, Sasha Pirogova, Blue Noses Group, Dario-Jacopo Laganá & Stefano Corso...
 

Bern.

Eine frische Brise weht durch die Dampfzentrale, wenn zum ersten Mal das NORDWIND Festival nach Bern kommt.

Die isländische Choreografin Erna Ómarsdóttir feiert in Black Marrow die menschliche Leib-lichkeit, Stina Nyberg aus Schweden findet Freiheit in der Veräusserung ihres Körpers an den Sound und die Finnin Elina Pirinen choreografiert eine Hommage an Schostakowitschs 7. Symphonie, die zwischen Groteske und Erhabenheit zur zeitlosen Studie der menschli-chen Existenz avanciert.

Ausserdem gibt es Kurzfilme, eine Club-Label-Night mit dem Originellsten, was die skandina-vische Clublandschaft derzeit zu bieten hat, und Anna von Hausswolff kehrt für ein Konzert in die Dampfzentrale zurück.

In einer Diskussionsrunde steht schliesslich ein Vergleich der Schweiz mit den skandina-vischen Ländern auf dem Pro-gramm.

Hamburg.

Zwei Wochen lang zeigen Künstler aus Nordeuropa und erstmals auch aus Russland herausragende Arbeiten aus Performance, Tanz, Musik und Bildender Kunst auf Kampnagel in Hamburg.

Im Programm sind unter ande-rem die weltweit erste Retro-spektive des Radikalkünstlers Pjotr Pawlenski, der mit seinen spektakulären Aktionen weltbe-rühmt wurde; mittlerweile Kampnagel-Stammkünstlerin, Erna Ómarsdóttir, die mit ihrer bildgewaltigen Choreografie BLACK MARROW bereits zum vierten Mal auf Kampnagel zu Gast ist; Andrej Sowlatschkow und Michail Patlasow, die den Neo-Faschismus in Russland unter die Lupe nehmen; der Shootingstar der finnischen Performanceszene Elina Pirinen mit PERSONAL SYMPHONIC MOMENT und viele mehr.